? servers

? players online

Electronic Arts: Challenge everything (Except for us)

• Content Count:  954

As I'm sure all of you know of the disastrous (Putting it gently) launch of SimCity 5, I thought I'd bring up a thread to talk about the multitudes of ways EA has royally fucked it's developers over.

Dragon Age II

I, myself have never played DA2. But what I do know about it is, it was rushed out of the gate with a very strict deadline, and Bioware didn't have as much creative freedom as they really should have.

Origin

Limiting their PC sales to require their clunky & ugly origin service is a detractor to the overall profit, seeing as 80% of PC gamers that use a service to access their games use Steam, and fucking hate origin. Also, the sales that give games 50-50-75% off most likely drastically increases profit, seeing as someone who might not normally buy the game might change their mind since it's so cheap.

Dead Space 3

I recently started playing the Dead Space franchise, currently on one, but from what I've heard and seen, DS3 has become a action game, rather than a horror game. (maybe 10-20% horror)

Problems being, you can't actually have a horror game with co-op, as you might already know.

But that doesn't even come close to the problems with Microtransactions. In a $60 game. As if they weren't ripping their players off already.

SimCity 5

And now we're at, what I consider, the worst thing EA has done.

Here's the process of what happened with SimCity:

1: People buy the game

2: Servers are overloaded, nobody can access the game without major latency or constant disconnections. EA says "All of the major computations are done on EA's cloud, and without the always-online aspect of the game, it just wouldn't work"

3: A day goes by, still no servers, people start asking for refunds, and most get blown off (One was threatened to be banned if he kept asking)